Tristan

Jussaume

Date of birth: 3/20/2001

Height: 1.75m

Weight: 70kg

Education: Cégep Édouard-Montpetit

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

Photo: Tosh Clements

Age started riding bikes: 10

Age started racing bikes: 10

Previous teams (club/collegiate count): Dynamiks de Contrecoeur

Rider type: time trialist

Strengths: time trial, long effort,

Area most eager to improve: sprinting

Biggest on the bike accomplishment to date: 3d place at the individual pursuit at the track world championship 2019

 

What or who inspired you to start riding?  

My first contact with de bike came from my sister, she started riding bikes at 8 years old, I was 6 at the time. Two years later she was doing her first race. I saw her getting podiums shortly after her début. Seeing her evolving in the sport and having fun racing, made me want to follow her path and start racing too.

What’s your biggest goal for the season?

Next year is going to be a big step for me as it’s going to be my first year in the elite ranks. My main goal is going to learn as much as I can and get as much experience as possible. I would like to help my team get good results and at the same time learn a little bit more about team work.

Where is your favorite place to train and why?

Virginia in the USA is probably my favorite place to train so far. You have a lot of different types of route. The roads are beautiful and it’s relatively close from my home since I have the possibility to drive there.

What’s one lesson you’ve had to learn the hard way and/or beginner mistake you made and now laugh about?

Ride fast enough on the track! Four years ago I crashed on the track just because I wasn’t riding fast enough…which coast me a broken ankle. I had to go through two surgeries and was off the bike for three months.

What has been the biggest adventure you’ve had on a bike to date?

When I was fourteen I did my first ever training camp in Cuba. It was probably the most memorable trip I‘ve done. I had the chance to ride with locals, discover little villages and push my limits on the bike.

What race are you most looking forward to this year and why?

I don’t have the race calendar yet. But I’m really looking forward to the international races, where there will be a strong field. I know I’m going to learn a lot from those races.

 

What is your dream race to win and why?

My dream race to win would be the road race at world championships. Being world champion has always been a dream of mine since I started racing bikes. Apart that, winning a time trial stage or race at a pro world event would be a huge accomplishment for me.

 

Which pro rider would you love to have as a teammate?

Having a rider like Mathieu Ven Der Poel as a teammate would be very inspiring. He seems to be showing the perfect example of the attitude and the mindset a winner should have. He’s always humble and is always trying to be better. He is a very experienced rider that I could definitively learn from.