SeanGuydish_edited.jpg
Sean
guydish
 

Date of birth: 06/13/2000

Height: 182cm
Weight: 67kg

Education: Northampton Community College 

  • Instagram - Black Circle

Top results

  • 2nd stage Joe Martin Stage Race ME  ('21)

  • 4th National Championships United States U23 - ITT  ('21)

  • 8th Points GC Joe Martin Stage Race ME  ('21)

  • 5th National Championships United States U23 - Road Race  ('21)

Age started riding bikes: 4

Age started racing bikes: 16

Previous teams (club/collegiate count): Junior- Young Medalists, U23- Keystone Racing. Kelly Benefit Strategies 

Rider type: All around/GC

Strengths: Time trials, Breakaway 

Area most eager to improve: Positioning/pack confidence

Biggest on the bike accomplishment to date: 2nd Stage 4 Joe Martin Stage Race

What or who inspired you to start riding? 

 

In high school I was a runner. After sustaining a knee injury that forced me to take time off, I had started cycling to try and get back into shape. Over time I got more into the competitive side of it, and did my first race in 2016.   

What’s your biggest goal for the season? 

 

I would like to get more experience racing at a high level and internationally. 

Where is your favorite place to train and why? 

 

Depends on the time of year. In the winter months I like to travel to the southwest for nicer weather and bigger climbs. In the summer I like to train in the mountains of North Carolina and Virginia whenever I’m able to make the trip.  

 

What’s one lesson you’ve had to learn the hard way and/or beginner mistake you made and now laugh about? 

 

Never try something new on race day. Junior nationals 2017 was my first long race and the first time I had to think about eating something during the race. I was given a gel from a teammate and having never had a gel before, my gut did not take it well and I got dropped in the first 30 min of the race.  

What has been the biggest adventure you’ve had on a bike to date?

 

During the peak shutdown due to Covid, about April of 2020, there was no traffic on the roads so I took advantage of this and rode to the beach and back. It was about 150 miles with alot of it being on major highways that would normally not be an option.  

What race are you most looking forward to this year and why? 

 

I’m looking forward to going to Europe and getting some international experience. I’ve never raced overseas and I’m excited to see how I stack up. 

What is your dream race to win and why? 

 

Tour of Flanders. This is always one of my favorite races to watch every year, because of its prestige, technicality and the physical and mental strength it takes to win. 

 

Which pro rider would you love to have as a teammate? 

 

Wout van Aert. He is one of the most versatile riders of this generation and I think you can learn alot from someone who has won every type of race.